By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City Council Election Candidates Increasing
Placeholder Image
The Riverbank City Council race has plenty of candidates.

Longtime members Dave White and Sandra Benitez did not file for re-election by the incumbents' deadline on Friday, so the final deadline is extended to 5 p.m. today, Wednesday, Aug. 11.

By Monday afternoon, six candidates had returned their nomination papers, namely Israel Hernandez, Larry C. King, Ric McGinnis, Allison Nobert, Richard D. O'Brien and Keenon J. Krick, although the county clerk declared Krick currently has insufficient valid signatures to qualify.

Five other hopefuls had taken out papers but not returned them as of press time. Those include Scott Robert Larson, Nadine Salim, Dorothy Nygard, Jeanine D. Tucker and Juan Carlos Verduzco.

The candidates will be competing for two seats with a four-year term that extends from December of 2010 to November of 2014. The compensation for the office is $350 per month.

Also on the Nov. 2 ballot is a Measure G proposal to raise the transient occupancy tax (TOT) rate from 4 percent to 9 percent. Riverbank does not yet have a hotel or motel.