By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2018 Veteran Of The Year Honors Awarded To Crow
vet award
Shown, center left, Assemblyman Heath Flora presenting the 12th Assembly District’s Veteran of the Year award to Becky Crow, center right. Photo Contributed

Assemblyman Heath Flora (R-Ripon) recently honored Becky Crow from Modesto as the 12th Assembly District’s 2018 Veteran of the Year.

“Ms. Crow is CEO of the Veterans Foundation of Stanislaus County where she serves the needs of the county’s veterans and their families,” said Assemblyman Flora. “I was proud to recognize her as our Veteran of the Year, and to show her around our state’s Capitol.”

Crow is a veteran of the U. S. Air Force, having served honorably from 1969 to 1978 as both a computer operator and the first female officer in Security Police. She is a disabled veteran from the Vietnam War era. She has used the services of the Veterans Administration and understands the requirements of the system and what veterans go through to access their benefits.

As CEO of the Veterans Foundation of Stanislaus County, she brings over 50 years of leadership experience, making her particularly well-suited to manage the event and conference center of a one-of-a-kind one-stop service center for veterans and their families.

“Our mission statement at the Veterans Foundation of Stanislaus County is to bring people, organizations, and resources together to effectively improve the well-being of all the veterans of Stanislaus County and their families,” said Ms. Crow. “It is an honor to receive this award from Assemblyman Flora, and it is an honor to continue serving the veteran community.”

Crow has a passion for helping veterans and improving the quality of their lives by updating and enhancing services and facilities on their behalf. She is a lifetime member of the American Legion Modesto Post 74. She was previously selected as the Stanislaus County Veteran of the Year for 2015.

Assemblyman Flora represents the 12th Assembly District, which includes the communities of Denair, Empire, Escalon, Farmington, Hickman, Hughson, Keyes, Lathrop, Linden, Lockeford, Manteca, Modesto, Oakdale, Ripon, Riverbank, Salida, Turlock, Victor, and Waterford.