By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Civil Grand Jury Selection Due
Placeholder Image

On Monday, July 1, Superior Court Judge Loretta Murphy Begen will preside over the selection of the 19 grand jurors and four alternates who will serve on the 2013-2014 Civil Grand Jury. Grand Jury members serve for one fiscal year.

Recruiting efforts for the 2013-2014 Grand Jury began in March and included mailing over 500 application letters to community members, County/City leaders, service organizations, local educational institutions, and reaching out through local newspapers and on the Web.

Judges Loretta Murphy Begen, Nan Cohan Jacobs and Ricardo Córdova, and Court Executive Officer Rebecca Fleming scheduled 53 interviews; 43 applicants completed the process. Thirty names were then selected for the random draw on July 1. Following the selection and swearing in ceremony, the incoming Grand Jury panel will attend an orientation session beginning at 9:30 a.m., at the County/City Chambers located at 1010 10th Street. Jurors also are required to attend a two-day training session which is presented by the California Grand Jury Association, a not-for-profit educational organization. The training this year is scheduled on July 11 and 12.