By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
McKinney Appointed To Planning Commission
Placeholder Image

Anthony McKinney has been appointed to fill the current Planning Commissioner vacancy, a seat formerly held by Max Melendez, and McKinney was given the Oath of Office by City Clerk Annabelle Aguilar on Monday, Oct. 28.

“I would like to take this moment to thank the Mayor, Councilmembers, and Vice Mayor for appointing me to this position,” said McKinney after taking the Oath of Office.

After conducting interviews with three applicants for the post, it was recommended by Mayor Richard O’Brien to appoint McKinney and with a 5 to 0 vote, he was approved.

“Mr. McKinney was as knowledgeable (as the other two candidates) but more concise in the way that he presented himself and I feel that he will be a fine addition to the planning commission,” said O’Brien.

According to the summary within the agenda, it is noted that the City Council took action at a regular City Council meeting on Aug. 12, 2013 to remove Planning Commissioner Melendez from office due to lack of meeting attendance.

The City Council directed staff to conduct a recruitment process to fill the position and three possible candidates were interviewed including McKinney. The recruitment period opened on Sept. 2 and closed on Sept. 16; however due to only receiving one application during that time, the period was extended until Oct. 18.

Members of the planning commission play an important role in the City by assisting in the implementation of public policy, especially those issues related to community planning and development.

Riverbank Municipal Code, Section 32.37 states, “the terms of the Planning Commission members shall be established by resolution of the City Council and may be changed from time to time in the same manner. All vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term. A member of the Commission may be removed from the office by a majority vote of the Council, or by the Mayor, subject to approval of the Council.”

Commission members receive $100 compensation for attending each scheduled meeting, which is a fixed amount set by the council.