By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Planning Commissioners Tapped By Council
Current City Council


A presentation was hosted at the Riverbank City Council meeting earlier this month for the newly appointed planning commissioners John Dinan, Robert Ball, and Alternate Planning Commissioner Melissa Hughes. The Oath of Office was administered by Mayor Richard O’Brien and the certificates of appointment were distributed by City Clerk Annabelle Aguilar.

O’Brien sealed the appointments with a handshake to each individual and a congratulations followed by a round of applause from those attending the council session.

The new commissioners, Dina and Ball, will serve a four-year term ending in December, 2021 while Hughes, the alternate, will serve a two-year term ending in December, 2019.

“We had a selection of 12 individuals vying for this position and all of them were very qualified,” stated O’Brien. “I am very pleased to announce that we are moving along with people that truly want to help out the city.”

Members of the Riverbank City Council adopted the resolution approving the appointments of Dinan, Ball, and Hughes at the regular city council meeting held on Dec. 12, 2017 with the swearing in ceremony occurring this month.

The mayor also thanked the outgoing Planning Commissioner Scott McRitchie and Budget Advisory Commission member Evelyn Halbert for their participation on the city panels as well as expressed appreciation for the newly appointed commissioners that will be serving on the planning commission over the next few years.

Also for the city council itself, the vice mayor is appointed at the beginning of each year through a nomination by the Mayor and a motion to accept. Darlene Barber Martinez was nominated by Mayor O’Brien to serve as vice mayor and the rest of the council concurred. Martinez will serve a one-year term.