By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Riverbank Lions Club Receives Its Charter
A new Riverbank Lions Club received its charter Saturday evening at a well-attended meeting at the Riverbank Community Center.

Chip Langman was named the first president. Bill Redford 1st vice president, Annabelle Aguilar the second vice president, Dawn Rios the secretary, Sharon Langman the treasurer, Laura Wilson the membership chair, Lynnette Bradley the lion tamer and Charlie Grom the tail twister. Dotty Nygard, Angie Timpone and Patricia Hughes were chosen for the board of directors.

They were presented with a flag that flew over the US Capitol Building on March 29, the official date of their charter by Lions Club International, said Lion Jeanine Tucker. She was the master of ceremonies for the evening because she is a member of the Modesto 500 Lions Club and helped the Riverbank group become established.

The club and names of chartering Lions were read into the Congressional record and they were presented with a copy. They also received Legislative Resolutions from the local Congressional representatives.

A Riverbank City Council member herself, Tucker read aloud a city resolution signed by Riverbank Mayor Virginia Madueno. City Councilmember Richard O'Brien was also in attendance and Councilmember Dotty Nygard was one of the newly inducted Lions members.

Lions Past District Governor Don Allen of the Oakdale Lions Club is also a "Guiding Lion" or mentor for this new club. The Oakdale Lions Club is the sponsoring club and International Director Bob Smith presided over the induction of members and installation of officers.

Charter members of the new club include Linda Abid-Cummings, Annabelle Aguilar, Tom Aja, Mia Alcala-Van Houten, Cynthia Avila, Lynnette Bradley, James "Doc" Dachenhaus, Charlie Grom, Carrie Higby, Patricia Hughes, Chip Langman, Don Langman, Sharon Langman, Leta Larkin, Sandy Lucas, Dotty Nygard, Billy Powell, Bill Redford, Jennifer Redford, Dawn Rios, Mark Rios, Angie Timpone, Joe Timpone and Laura Wilson.