By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Trio Of Soccer Wins Scores Tournament Medal
Coaches Brian Orr, left, and Sebastian DeSales flank the Oakdale Insanity U19 soccer girls, who won three games and lost one at the Dublin Shamrock Tournament, taking home third place medals with a penalty kick shootout victory in the consolation finals on Sunday. - photo by Marg Jackson/The News

Taking three wins in four games played over the weekend, the Oakdale Insanity U19 soccer girls came home with consolation honors from the Dublin Shamrock Tournament.

Bracket play saw the team, which includes players from Oakdale, Riverbank, Escalon and Modesto, defeat Natomas by a 3-1 margin in their opening game on Saturday. They cruised to a 5-0 shutout win over Vallejo in game two Saturday but faced off with the other top team in their bracket, Mustang Xplosion, on Sunday. The teams both amassed 19 points in their first two games so the Sunday battle meant the winner would go on to the championship game, the loser to the consolation finals.

The Mustangs scored one goal in each half while keeping the Insanity off the board, shutting them down 2-0. The Danville-based Mustangs went on to claim championship honors in the tourney, defeating Ajax East Bay. Oakdale, meanwhile, battled to a 2-2 regulation tie in the consolation game against MDSA, with the teams then fighting through two scoreless five-minute overtime periods. The game came down to penalty kicks, with the Insanity notching four out of five; MDSA got just two in the net so the game was classified a 3-2 Oakdale victory and earned the girls a third place medal in the toughest match of the tournament.

Next, the girls will play in the annual Cassy Rowe Tournament at Cherry Island soccer complex, Aug. 23 and 24.

Riverbank’s Jassmine Vigil suits up for the team, in her second year with the squad, and also plays for the Lady Bruins varsity squad in the spring. Other team members are Vanessa Kualapai, Jackie Valeriano, Jaylyne Serpa, Katelyn Jackson, Allison Jackson, Taylor Thatcher, Helena Hoover, Danae Rose, Denise Thompson, Logan Laugero, Kaylee DeRuyter, Melissa Ibarra, Patricia Jacobo, Amelia Hernandez, Bianka Ibarra, Kennedy Codromac, and Madisen Stoughtenborough.