By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
RHS Announces Sports Awards
Placeholder Image
Kasey Wool and Ben DeYoung won the most Riverbank High School spring sports awards during the presentation of plaques and trophies to top athletes on May 16.

Wool was named Spring Scholar Athlete, TVL Scholar Athlete, Most Valuable Runner in Track and Outstanding Senior Athlete.

DeYoung won awards for Most Valuable Runner in Track, Spring Scholar Athlete, RHS Scholar Athlete, TVL Scholar Athlete and Army Scholar Athlete.

Awards, by sport, went to the following students:

Track - Ralphie Stevens, for Most Valuable Field Event; Bianca Melchor, All-Bruin; Michael Dougherty, All-Bruin; and Maritza Garcia, Distance Runner of the Year.

Soccer - Tiffany Banda, for All-Bruin Soccer; Janette Ruiz, Most Dedicated; and Sonia Silveira, Most Inspirational.

Golf - Nick Bos, for All-Bruin: Patrick Dean, Entertainer of the Year: and Nick Hernandez, Most Valuable Player.

Softball - Courtney Brock and Chelsi Walls, both for Offensive Player of the Year; Tessa Lozano, All-Bruin and Coach's Award.

Tennis - Amber Nickels, for All-Bruin; Leslie Thissen, Most Improved; Antonio Vigil, Most Improved.

Baseball - Ricky Perez, All-Bruin; Kyle Rotan, Most Improved; and Andy Villalobos, Most Outstanding Player.

Dance - Juana Aguilar, for Best Personality; Angelica Vallejo, Most Inspirational; and Juanita Vigil, All-Bruin.

Jon Blount was named Outstanding Senior Athlete and also received the Bruin Lifetime Achievement Award.

Spring Scholar Athletes in addition to Wool and DeYoung, included Raquel Anguiano, Zac Swanson, David Unruh and Antonio Vigil.

Ted Suguira and Monica Cardenas were chosen for Marine Corps Distinguished Athletes, Katie Gettling for Army Scholar Athlete and Juan Lopez and Michael Dougherty for the Richard Thiel Memorial Award