By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon AAUW Branch Ends Year
AAUW Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon 2022-2023 Board Officers include Clydora Hippler, Zoe Kilkenny, Charlotte Pizzo, Teri Curtis, Linda King. Not pictured: Tena McLane-Ceja, Sharon Hawley Crum and Mary Wolgamot. Photo Contributed

As has become tradition, members of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon Branch wrapped up another stimulating, energizing and enjoyable year in May with appreciation, awards and recognition.

The morning’s program began with Fund Director Gail Marganelli giving outgoing officers and others small tokens of appreciation to thank them for the hard work they did this year while the branch was without a president. She followed that by announcing that Carolyn O’Neal is the Branch’s Named Gift Honoree this year. This award, which is voted on by the membership recognizes a member who provides extraordinary service to the branch.

Elaine Kidd next introduced this year’s scholarship recipients. This year three Oakdale High School graduates, all former AAUW ORE Tech Trekkers, were awarded scholarships. Emma Lowe and Ruby Fink received four-year scholarships and Elizabeth Fox received a two-year scholarship.

The morning’s program concluded with Diane Korupp installing officers for 2022-2023 as follows: Co-Presidents, Zoe Kilkenny and Charlotte Pizzo; Co-Vice-Presidents, Program, Teri Curtis and Tena McLane-Ceja; Vice-President, Membership, Clydora Hippler; Vice-President, Treasurer, Sharon Hawley-Crum; Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Linda Slayton King; Vice-President, Public Policy Director, Mary Wolgamot.

Each incoming officer present raised her right hand and affirmed: “I will perform the duties of the office to the best of my ability and will, in all my actions, strive for the good of the branch.” Afterwards members and guests partook of a lovely brunch in a member’s back yard.

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) advances gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy. The nonpartisan, nonprofit organization has more than 170,000 members and supporters across the United States, as well as 1,000 local branches and more than 800 college and university members. Graduates holding an associates or higher degree from an institution of the AAUW list of qualified institutions and persons holding an honorary degree are eligible for membership in AAUW. Learn more at Branch information is at or by emailing the branch at