By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Council Members To Serve On Committees
Riv City Council

Riverbank City Council members and the Local Redevelopment Authority Board participate in various intergovernmental boards and committees throughout the year. This allows them to actively engage in the discussion and decisions that affect the residents of Riverbank. One of the first orders of business of each year is for the City Council and Local Redevelopment Authority Board to review the prior year’s Board and Committee lists as adopted, nominate someone or seek a volunteer for an appointment, and ratify any changes agreed upon by roll call vote.

The following City Council members will be representatives on the various boards and committees, the appointments approved by the council at its meeting earlier this month.

City Councilmember Cal Campbell will be the representative on the League of California Cities Central Valley Division Executive Committee with Mayor Richard O’Brien as the alternate.

The primary and alternate for League of California Cities Annual Conference Voting Delegates will be determined in June.

O’Brien will be primary and Darlene Barber-Martinez will be the alternate on the North County Corridor Transportation Expressway Authority Board.

The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District Special City Selection Committee has Barber-Martinez as the primary and alternate Leanne Jones Cruz.

The StanCOG Policy Board works together with local cities to enhance communication, cooperation and comprehensive planning in dealing with regional issues and will have O’Brien as the primary and Cal Campbell as the alternate.

Barber-Martinez is the primary on Stanislaus Office of Emergency Services Disaster Council and Jones Cruz is the alternate.

Campbell is the only representative on the Workforce Development Board; his two-year term will expire in June and at that time the assignment will be made for another two-year term.

Appointment to the Lower Stanislaus River Trail Improvement Plan Committee was set aside which Campbell is the primary and Barber-Martinez the alternate. There has been no activity with this committee so they will do further research to see if the committee will be eliminated.

The Budget Advisory Committee has Cindy Fosi as the primary and Jones Cruz as the alternate representative.

Barber-Martinez requested to be removed from the Friends of Jacob Myers Park non-profit organization due to other commitments so for now a temporary appointment was made with Campbell as the primary and Fosi as the alternate.

The Local Redevelopment Authority Community Advisory Committee has voluntarily decided to suspend meetings indefinitely.

The Sister City Committee currently has Barber-Martinez as the primary and Jones Cruz as the alternate representative, with a review to be scheduled at a later date to see if it is still necessary to have representation.