By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Scholarships And Awards Presented To RHS Seniors
RHS senior Valleri Gobel was one of a large group of students awarded the Golden State Seal of Merit upon graduation this month. More than two dozen Bruins received the honor. Ric McGinnis/The News


Graduating seniors at Riverbank High School recently received recognition for their hard work and their academic, civic and athletic achievements over the past school year.

Nearly 190 awards were presented to 64 seniors in the Class of 2016. Some received a few, some received many awards, presented by teachers, administrators, representatives from the military and from civic organizations. Some were awarded for their grades, others for their community spirit and others in memory of family members or educators who have passed on.

Those seniors receiving awards at the recent ceremony, in alphabetical order are:

Darlene Albor, Mark Alderete-Mendez, Jesus Aldrete Jr., Nataly Alvarez, Edwin Arana-Lupercio, Selene Aviña, Isela Ayala, Andrea Barragan-Zunniga, Adrian Benitez, Stephanie Bernal, Mayleigh Brown, Julie Carera, Cintia Calderon, Hector Calderon Jr., Emmanuel Chavez-Maravilla and Roman Cota.

Also awarded were Alexandra Diaz, Carolina Duarte-Iniguez, Patricia Elizondo-Arteaga, Ruben Facio, Joshua Felix, Keylin Figueroa, Arianna Garcia, Rigoberto Garcia, Ashley Genasci, Noah Glynn, Valleri Gobel, Jennifer Guerrero, Esmerelda Gutierrez-Alatorres, Juan Carlos Hernandez Felix, Isaac Hernandez, Paola Herrera del Rio and Kylee Jimenez.

Other seniors recognized at the special event included Mitzi Manzo-Godinez, Nathaniel Martinez, Aztrid Meza-Barajas, Elizabeth Montanez-Fuentes, Omar Montoya, Julian Montoya-Nevarez, Alyssa Munoz, Ashely Murillo-Delgado, and Sierra Nabors.

Next awardees were Jesus Obermeyer, Yoseline Palmerin-Calderon, Ruben Paredez, Savannah Pulido, Josephine Ratliff, Michael Rocha, Michael Rodriguez, Armando Ruiz-Diego, Kimberly Ruvalcaba, Kathryn Searway, Yarixa Soto-Valencia, Mikala Stewart and Martin Sveen.

The final awardees were Sara Tapia, Hannah Thomas, Gabriela Vazquez-Vigil, Jennifer Verdin, Elijah Vernon, Allisenda Villapudua and Eric Wise.

As reported earlier, Ashley Murillo Delgado, Kathryn Searway, Sara Tapia and Eli Vernon were selected as RHS Valedictorians for the Class of 2016. Emmanuel Chavez Maraville was chosen as Salutatorian.

Commencement exercises are scheduled for tomorrow evening, Thursday, May 26 at 6:30 p.m. in the Ray Fauria Memorial Gymnasium on the RHS campus.